Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

charlotte-hornets-logo-31
The Hornets are back fella! and I am pumped. I have always been a casual NBA fan and since the original Hornets moved to New Orleans, I have been apathetic towards the NBA. Growing up in an era where the Bulls had Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen and Dennis Rodman; the Knicks had Patrick Ewing, John Starks, and Charles Oakley, and the Pacers were led by Reggie Miller, none of these teams captured my heart. The Hornets had Alonzo Mourning, Larry Johnson and Mugsy Bouges and this team did in fact capture my heart. I loved the Hornets despite the fact that they could never get over the hump I loved this team and I was interested in basketball. I had no issues with the Hornets leaving Charlotte for New Orleans, they would still be my beloved Hornets. My issue however was with the decision to move to the Western Conference at a time when Kobe and Shaq ruled the Lakers, Tim Duncan and the Spurs where perennially battling Dirk Nowitzki and the Dallas Mavericks for the division title, and Steve Nash had the Suns in the mix every year. I rooted for the Hornets but being overmatched in the Western Conference and this is where apathy began to set in. The Hornets moderate success in the Western Conference was not enough to draw me back in. The Hornets in the weaker Eastern Conference could have been perennial contenders instead they were lucky if they got a five seed in the Western Conference. Then they committed the ultimate betrayal they changed their name to the Pelicans. This was the last straw for me I could not get behind a team named the Pelicans. I should add that I equally couldn’t get behind the Bobcats. I would rather be a Milwaukee Bucks fan then a New Orleans Pelican or Charlotte Bobcat fan. Yes I would rather root for the worst team in the NBA than either of those teams, and indeed this past season I did root for the Bucks. Now the Bobcats are no more and my Hornets are back. This is a team that is showing promise of being on the rise and this is a team I can absolutely get behind. I say it proudly I am a Hornets fan and for the first time in years I am looking forward to an NBA season with any excitement whatsoever. So I say proudly and with gusto Go Hornets fella!

